6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2012 3:04 PM by baztown

preventing duplicate thru portal

baztown

Title

preventing duplicate thru portal

i'm new to Filemaker and to databases.

Im working with a realtionship database for a small museum.

Im working on a sample database, one table is 'names' the other 'artifacts'

I created a portal under the artifacs table that pulls the name table information . I would like to create a way to input names etc thru the artifact table, so that when new items are aquired we shouldnt have to input the reated names thru the name databse, we should be able to input that information  thur the artifact table via the portal.

1) is that wise?

2) i created a drop down (from the name table) so that we should pick any current name rather than creating a duplicate name. But every time we click on a current name thru the dropdown it creates a duplicate and a new ID under  the name table  , how can i avoid that?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: preventing duplicate thru portal
          philmodjunk

It would help to know how you have related these two tables and the purpose for each table. Why do you need the names table? What does it do for you?

Ideally, your artifacts table should have a primary key field. In FileMaker, we often begin the name of such a field with __fk or something similar to make it easy to spot which field serves as the primary key. In FileMaker, this field is almost always an auto-entered serial number, though Filemaker 12 offers an alternative using Get ( UID ).

This field would then be used to link a record in artifacts to other related tables such as:

Artifacts::__pkArtifactID = Names::_fkArtifactID