6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 3:06 PM by Shelby

Preventing field access on 'closed' records

Shelby

Title

Preventing field access on 'closed' records

Hello,

I am a volunteer working on a database for a non profit organization offering transportaion services for medical purposes & meals on wheels etc.

Each record has fields including Customer name, Volunteer name, destination, miles travelled , cost of service & so on.

Once the service has been done and paid for it is 'closed' ( in a status field )

I need the information  available for statistics purposes but I would like that it be impossible to make changes to any of the fields and also impossible to duplicate the entire record once it is closed.

I am a beginner if filemaker and would appreciate any help you can give me.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Preventing field access on 'closed' records
          philmodjunk

Have you worked with Manage | Security at all yet?

If you have used Manage | Security to set up accounts for your users, you can use record level access control to make all "closed" records read only while new records not yet "closed" can still be edited by them. We use this method to keep employees from editing invoice records after they have been "printed".

See "Editing record access privileges" in FileMaker Help and check out this particular sub section: "Entering a formula for limiting access on a record-by-record basis" for a detailed description of how to set this up.

If that is not enough to get this working for you, feel free to post back with follow up questions.

• 2. Re: Preventing field access on 'closed' records
            Shelby

Thank you very much.

Works great.. Now I have another question..