10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2010 7:55 AM by mrvodka

Primary Key Data Type

MarieT

Title

Primary Key Data Type

I am new at FMP 10 and want to understand why when you create a Primary Key that is an auto generated seriel number the data type used is text?  That makes no sense to me since the type is obviously a number. 

I am referring to all of the pre-made fmp examples that come with 10.

It makes sense to me that the data type would be number so that it could be indexed and sorted as a number.  The data Type of text does not do that.  Help.  What don't I understand?

My friends who write SQL databases tell me NEVER make a Primary Key text.   HELP????

• 1. Re: Primary Key Data Type
          mrvodka

First FileMaker has VERY loose data types. You can enter text in a number field if you so choose unless you dont allow it in the validation.

The default type when you create fields is set to text.

As for the sample databases having text serial ID key fields, I would guess that it may have been possibly laziness or carelessness.

• 2. Re: Primary Key Data Type
            MarieT

Are you saying then that it is BEST PRACTICE to use number data type?

Do you see any problem with me changing from text to number?

• 3. Re: Primary Key Data Type
              mrvodka

No there shouldnt be an issue for you. Once could have text key fields. However, when dealing with incrementing serial fields, then it should be number.

• 4. Re: Primary Key Data Type
                philmodjunk

Another reason for keeping numbers in number fields:

Numbers sort like numbers and text sorts like text.

Numbers in a text field will sort like this (ascending): 1, 10, 2, 30, 9 ...

• 5. Re: Primary Key Data Type
                  MarieT

Thanks for the clear and "to the point" answer I was seeking.

I like reading your posts because you get right to it without a lot of extraneous babble like some "helpers".  Thanks for that!