8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2010 8:51 AM by Shraddha

Primary key with more than one fields

ShubhankarDiptiman

Title

Primary key with more than one fields

I am new to the file maker community .

I wish to make combination of two fields in a table as primary key ( unique ) .

I have SalesTable (Header) and SalesLines (Lines) .

SalesTable has SalesId as primary key (unique) .

SalesLines table has SalesId as a foriegn key and another field LineNum (Line number) .

In SalesLines, I  wish to

1. Make the LineNum field auto entered from number 1 for a SalesId e.g.

SalesId           LineNum

SO001                 1

SO001                 2

SO002                 1

SO002                 2

SO003                 3

Line number once consumed e.g. in case a user deletes a sales line will not be used again for the SalesLines of that sales order i.e. if in above example if a user deletes the record for SalesId SO002  and lineNum 2 then LineNum 2 will not be created again for SalesId SO002

2. Make combination of SalesId and LineNum  as unique for SalesLines.

Pls help.

SD

• 1. Re: Primary key with more than one fields
          philmodjunk

While there are other uses for such a numbering method, using it as a primary key for your LineNum table is not a good idea. A separate serial number field defined in the LineNum table will be much less troublesome to implement and use.

The main purpose of a primary key is to label each record with a unique identifier and this does not require an approach like you describe to accomplish.

What problem would such a numbering approach solve for you?

• 2. Re: Primary key with more than one fields
            ShubhankarDiptiman

Hi,

Thanks for picking this post to help.

The way  i have described my table structure above has following purposes