8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2009 1:16 PM by sjr1956

Primary keys

sjr1956

Title

Primary keys

I'm being thick of course (though in mitigation I am new to FM9), but where/how/do I store primary key data so that if I need to change it, it changes are propagated to all of the tables in which I need it to appear.  I think not changing it (i.e. using an auto-created serial number) is the best plan, but in any case I would still need to know how to get that auto-created serial number into the desired fields/tables.  Any suggestions gratefully received.  I've been reading "the only FM9 manual you will ever need" and it's like swimming uphill in treacle.

Cheers - in advance....

• 1. Re: Primary keys
          TSGal

sjk1956:

Thank you for your post.

I'm sure others will pipe in and say "Don't ever change your key field".

Since most of your tables are linked by a key field, the trick is to find those records with the old value and change it to the new value.  One way is to create a new field that will hold the new key, and then run a script which will find all records with the old key and replace it with the new key, and then change the original record key to the new key.  Assuming your key field is titled "KEY", and you put the new value into a field named "NEW KEY", the script may look like the following:

Set Variable [ $old = KEY ]

Set Variable [ $new = NEW KEY ]

Go to Layout [ <layout with related information> ]

Set Error Capture [On]

Enter Find Mode []

Set Field [ <key field> ; $old ]

Perform Find []

If [ Get ( FoundCount ) > 0 ]

Replace Field Contents [ <key field> ; $new ]

End If

Set Error Capture [Off]

Go to Layout [ <original layout> ]

Set Field [ KEY ; $new ]

Set Field [ NEW KEY ; "" ]

-------------------