2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2013 1:54 PM by philmodjunk

privilege sets

joedunn

Title

privilege sets

Hi,

I'm new to filemaker and I'm having some issues with custom privilege sets.  I've created a database to track my company's inventory & I want to make a privilege set called Account executives that allows them to modify some fields but not others.  I'd like them to be able to modify the fields I've named: notes, qty req, date due, date out, etc.  I don't want them to be able to change things by mistake like location, qty on hand, dimensions, brand, etc..

The problem I'm having is:

i've set the privilege set "account executive" to have custom field privileges, all modifieable: date out, date due, notes, qty req etc.  Problem is when I log into an account I've assigned these privilges to, I get an error msg that says "this action cannot be performed because this field is not modifiable"  but....when I go in to manage security, I have these fields set as modifiable.  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for the help,

Joe

Screen_Shot_2013-03-15_at_4.23.00_PM.png

• 1. Re: privilege sets
          joedunn

Here is a screen shot of the privilege set where I have the field "event" set as modifiable.  Not sure why its not letting me modify something that I gave permission to modify.

Thanks for the help

• 2. Re: privilege sets
            philmodjunk

If security settings were preventing you from modifiying the field, the error message would read: "Your access privileges do not permit this".

The error message you are showing is due to some action on your part that is attempting to either directly or indirectly modify a field that is not modifiable.

A non modifiable field is either a calculation field or one that is set with the "prohibit modification during data entry" setting on the auto-enter tab in Field Options.