3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2013 4:54 AM by john.s

Problem validating data

john.s

Title

Problem validating data

I'm very new to FM...I'm trying to prevent the input of data into a field when a different field is empty.  For example when there is no date in the PhotoRetakeDate I want to prevent the inadvertent input of a date in the ProofsSentForRetake field.  I can do it at the layout level using a script trigger  but I will run in to this in a lot of layouts and want to do it at the Field definition if possible...I can't figure out how to do it in the Validate using a calculation area.  Any help will be greatly appreciated...I'm sure this is simple just not simple enough for me yet.

Thanks,

John

• 1. Re: Problem validating data
          RickWhitelaw

It seems to me that if you implement Validation on your second filed, something like (by calculation)  If ( IsEmpty(field one);"  ") that should work. Then set things up to  ake a custom response to the Validation Error.

i'm on an iPad at the moment so cannot test what I just wrote.

rick.

• 2. Re: Problem validating data
            john.s

Thanks Rick,

That is how I first thought of doing it but can't figure out how to alert the operator that the entry is not valid or allow the entry if it is valid.  If I put "  " as the first result of the if statement that doesn't alert the operator that they are in the wrong field...and what do I put in the second result of the if statement to allow the entry to go forward?

John

• 3. Re: Problem validating data
              john.s

Hey Rick,