10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2009 8:55 PM by JRemsen

Problem with data import of basic width delimited txt file

JRemsen

Title

Problem with data import of basic width delimited txt file

I am relatively new to the scripting side of filemaker pro but I or it seem to be missing something. Why doesn't filemaker pro allow the import of data from a basic width delimited text file? I was pretty sure all database software could carry this out since early 90's. Is there some reason why its hidden or not in the package? More importantly if it is not what is the workaround.

Text file framework:

text:10 text:3 text:20 text:20 text:20 text:20 text:8 text:10

so

"date-sec-comment-comment-comment-comment-file#-comment"

excluding the "-"

To be fed into field 1, field 2, field 3, field 4....field 8

How do I bring this in to Filemaker Pro without using Excel or Access to process it first? I want to take out the middle man and go from TXT right into the database so I can automate the updates I need.

I spent roundabout 4 hours today trying to make the above basic function happen using different scripting methods that were available in Filemaker.   

Thanks,

Jay

• 1. Re: Problem with data import of basic width delimited txt file
          comment_1
             You do need a middle man - but Filemaker can be it. Import your data into a temp table (it will be all in one field). Define 8 calculation fields in this table, using the Middle() function to extract the individual field data. Then import the records from the temp table into the real table.
          • 2. Re: Problem with data import of basic width delimited txt file
            JRemsen

I think you mean use the set field function with middle. I was working on that yesterday. That meathod requires me to build an additional table to feed the data into...I was hoping that this function would have been there already. Its been 20 years I think it is about time for file maker to add it. :)