6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2012 2:14 PM by ScottJones

problem with join table in many to many relationship

ScottJones

Title

problem with join table in many to many relationship

I have recently started using FileMaker Pro again to create some work-related databases.  (I am a lawyer in a small firm.)  For reference the last time I created a database before my recent purchase of version 11, I used either a 2.x or 3.x version; so, it has been a while.

I have looked at a number of posts related to my issue, and I just cannot see what I am doing wrong.  I think that I am so deep in the forest that I am not seeing the tree right in front of me.  Because the database I am havibg a problem with had quite a few "moving parts," I created a smaller sample to see if in the complexity of my larger database, I had just missed something. My smaller sample has the same problem.

My sample database has 3 tables: characters, documents, and join.  The characters table has a character name field and a characterID field.  The documents table has a document name field and a documentID field.  The join table has the 2 id fields.  My problems is that when I create a new document in the document table, there is not one created in the join table.  I have attached a screen shot of the manage tables screen.  I will try to upload otehr screen shots later, if that will help, but I am late for a meeting right now.  I hope someone can tell me the simple mistake I am making.

By the way, this is a great forum.  As I get back up to speed, I will try to contribute.

combined_Page_6.jpg

• 1. Re: problem with join table in many to many relationship
          philmodjunk

What you describe sounds like expected behavior. Creating a new record in one table does not automatically create a new record in another except in very special cases. You'd need to put a script in place to do that.