1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2009 1:51 PM by lkn4atlantis

Problem with relationships

lkn4atlantis

Title

Problem with relationships

I am new to FMP, and using edition 5. I'm trying to set up a relationship between 2 files, well trying to learn how to anyway. This is what I did; I went to file, define relationships, opened the other file and chose the 2 corresponding items I want to make relational. Then I went to layout mode, draggd the field icon onto the work area, used the top drop down list to find my relationship and choose that, then choose the same field in the bottom drop down list and clicked ok. But when I go back to browse mode, my relationship doesn't show up, the field does, but not the information. What did I do wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Amy

• 1. Re: Problem with relationships
          philmodjunk

Please describe the fields being used as keys in your relationships. Are they stored, indexed? This should happen automatically when you first use them in a relationship, but since they're not, I'd check.

Are there matching valid entries in both file's key fields?

On a side note:  If you're new to filemaker, I'd seriously consider acquiring an updated installation of filemaker. FMP 5 is many years old and no longer supported by Filemaker inc. The latest version, FMP 10, has greatly enhanced capabilities and a significantly different user interface.

• 2. Re: Problem with relationships
            lkn4atlantis

Not sure what you mean by describe the fields. I don't know if they are stored or indexed.  And what do you mean by matching valid entries in both file's key fields? 

• 3. Re: Problem with relationships
              philmodjunk