1 2 3 Previous Next 43 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 11:49 AM by philmodjunk

problems with checkbox sorts

imgaryshap

Title

problems with checkbox sorts

Hello -

I'm a filemaker pro 8 (MAC) user.  novice / intermediate level.

Here are the fields I'm working with:

- Title

- Genre (checkbox field contains separate options).

A Titles can work for multiple networks (i.e. - For Title "TV SHOW 1"  -you can check "Science" "Adventure" "Children" in the Genre Field.

When I sort by Genre, I want the Title to show up under each Sub-Summary report.  (so for the above example - I want to see:

Science:

TV SHOW 1

Adventure:

TV SHOW 1

Children:

TV SHOW 1

This is not happening.

any ideas?

I've looked at other forum explanations, and have not found a suitable and clearly understandable solutions.

Thanks for your help!

-Gary

• 1. Re: problems with checkbox sorts
          davidanders

I want to see....

What DO you see??? 

• 2. Re: problems with checkbox sorts
            imgaryshap

It's what I don't see.  so if a Title has more than one checkbox checked.   it will only show up in the report under the first one checked.  so in my example, I see this:

Science:

TV SHOW 1

Adventure:

Children:

Also - I have a Genre Count summary.  

If one of my titles has multiple checkboxes set in the genre field, my subsummary genre count becomes flawed and remains blank.

• 3. Re: problems with checkbox sorts
              philmodjunk

It looks like you have one record with multiple "Genre" values selected in your checkbox field. That, as you've discovered, won't work as your report is trying to list the same record in mutiple locations.

You'll need to set up a related "Genre" table instead of check boxes. Then you can base your summary report on the Genre table and sort by Genre with the titles from your main table displayed in the sub summary parts. Look up "portal" in Filemaker's Help system for a simple method of replacing your check box field with a portal.