1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2013 11:47 AM by fmpro_novice

Problems with duplicates

fmpro_novice

Title

Problems with duplicates

I have 3 fields:    Last Name ( Text field )      First Name ( Text field )      Full Name ( Calculation of Last Name & First Name )

If someone enters the Last and First Name of a name that is already in the database, I need a dialog box to come and say, "There is already someone entered with the same first and last name."

Then, the entry that is already in the database would display directly below the record that is trying to be entered with the same last and first name. The options would be:

1. Continue - which would allow the duplicate and the user could continue adding to the record;
           2. Delete - which would delete the record the user is trying to create and show all records and allow the user to continue.

I know this should be easy, but I'm a novice and I can't find what I'm looking for. Can someone show me a script that I could use which would trigger after someone tabs out of the Last Name field?

Thank you.
           Charlie

• 1. Re: Problems with duplicates
          philmodjunk

To start, you can define Full Name as a text field and the calculation can be an auto-enter calculation. You can actually change the field type to text, open field options and when you select the calculation option, you'll find that FileMaker automatically has set up your original calculation as the auto-entered calculation. But now you can click the validation tab and select the Unique Values validation option.

This won't quite get you the options you want as a response to duplicate values, but this is a good "insurance" setting to make sure that you catch duplicate entries even if the user finds a way around your layout settings for checking for duplicate values.