6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2008 2:08 AM by Meat

Pulling info from a drop down list?

Meat

Title

Pulling info from a drop down list?

Hi guys

Im new to databases and filemaker pro, im creating a little database and i have info entered via a drop down lists in some fields.

What im trying to do is take the result (of the field with drop down list) and enter it intoa different part of the database.

I can do this ok with normal text fields by just doing Field = field a plus field b now im tryign to use this ont he fields with drop down boxes but its not responding or giving me a result

is this kind of thing possible in fielmaker pro and would greatly apprecite if it is possible if soemone could send me ont he right track

Thanks

• 1. Re: Pulling info from a drop down list?
          TSGal

Meat:

Thank you for your post.

A drop-down list is the same as a field, and it is just another way to enter data.  If you are using a plus sign, then you want to make sure both fields are number fields.  If you are trying to concatenate two fields together, then use the "&" (ampersand) character to separate the two strings.

If you can give me a more specific example, and also include the types of fields, that would be helpful.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Pulling info from a drop down list?
            Meat

TSGal

Thanks for prompt response

This is just my third day on database stuff so im struggling a little bit bt overall love the product

what i have is i have made like a tabbed layout with 4 tabs on it

tab 1 i basically am summarising info from other tabs where most of the data is entered

so on tab 2 for instance i have two drop down lists, with eg Red Green Blue in one and Pink Black and Yellow in the other.

What im trying to do on tab 1 is create a field that combines the results from above so it would say soemthing like Red Black

Ive been using the manage menu thingy and have put in eg Field 1 = Field 2 & Field 3