12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2011 10:16 AM by philmodjunk

Query a table to produce a total based on number of records and show the results in a field of...

kpmoy

Title

Query a table to produce a total based on number of records and show the results in a field of another table

I have several tables for our department. 

Table 1:  Names of Faculty in our Department

Table 2:  Published Documents by our Faculty (usually more than 1 faculty member per document)

Table 3:  Awards Received by Faculty

etc.

I'm new to Filemaker Pro so I may not have the correct terminology.  Is there a way to put a field in the Faculty Layout that says "Documents Published in 2010" that will query the documents in Table 2 (that show the faculty member as being one of the authors) and return a quantity in that field?

Would this be the correct way to set up a database for what I'm trying to do?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Query a table to produce a total based on number of records and show the results in a field of...
          philmodjunk

Since you a Faculty Member can publish more than one document and a document can be published by more than one Faculty Member, you have a many to many relationship here. How did you implement that relationship?

Useing a separate relationship that matches by publication year and Faculty ID number you can get that count, but the details depend on the structure of your database.

And a further question:

What will you do next year? Do you want to see one total for 2010 and one total for 2011 or should the count of documents for 2010 automatically update from documents published in 2010 to documents published in 2011?

• 2. Re: Query a table to produce a total based on number of records and show the results in a field of...
            kpmoy

The Faculty database has a unique id # for each faculty member