1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2011 3:35 PM by philmodjunk

Query about Valuelists

deepakgupta_1

Title

Query about Valuelists

Dear All,

I am new to filemaker and would like to count the number of times a particular value of a valuelist is selected in a table.  This is to be part of a separate summary table.   Can you point me in the right direction with respect to what functions I need to do this?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Query about Valuelists
          philmodjunk

You may not need a separate summary table. There's more than one approach that works for this.

With a summary table:

1. In your summary table, define a matching field where each record receives one value from the value list. This table can actually serve as the source of values for your value table if you define the value list to take its values from this same table.
          2. Define a relationship between your summary table and your main table similar to this:

SummaryTable::valueField = MainTable::valueListField

3. Define a calculation field in the Summary table with this expression to count the records:
          4. Count ( MainTable::valueListField )
          5. And it will count each instance of a particular value in the Main table.

Without a summary table:

1. Define a summary field as the "count of" your value list field.
          2. Create a new layout based on your main table and change the body layout part into a sub summary part "when sorted by" the value list field. Place the value list field and this summary field in the sub summary part.
          3. Enter browse mode and sort your records by the value list field, select the view as list option, and you'll see a list with one row for every value and the count that goes with it.