3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2010 10:17 AM by philmodjunk

Question about making portals with a query

MDLInteractive

Title

Question about making portals with a query

Hi Guys.

So i'm new with Filemaker. I've followed a few video tutorials and am capable of making a decent layout with functionality. 

Now im running into this problem and was hoping you can provide an solution ;)

There is a customer, and he can have multiple orders.

I have a table called orders. here are just the order name and price. Now every order has to have a status, with a status date. As it has to be possible to look in the history of an order (eg. status 3 on 1-12-09 and went to status 5 on 15-12-09) an simple field in the order table would not work. So i made another table, called status, and put an status ID, status label and status date in it as well a relationship orderIDfk linked to orderID in the order table, one to many)

So now a order can have a status, and there should be a history of them. No problem.

But now the catch:

I need 4 portals beneith eachother:

one portal showing the orders of customer 1 with status 4 as last made status

one portal showing the orders of customer 1 with status 2 as last made status

one portal showing the orders of customer 1 with status 8 as last made status  

one portal showing the orders of customer 1 with status 1 as last made status

But how can i make a portal show this information? I know the SQL query for it, but im totally stuck in filemaker. 

So an customer can have multiple orders, and those orders have multiple statusses. But i want to know what order is in what status at the current moment.

Is this possible (is hás to be) and how can i pull it off?

Thanks in advance guys!

• 1. Re: Question about making portals with a query
          philmodjunk

Why multiple portals?