4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 23, 2012 9:43 PM by LinaX

Question about Records

LinaX

Title

Question about Records

I'm new to Filemaker (FMP 11), and I'm trying to figure out a way to match the record number to subject number.

For example, subject 500 is not in our research study (no data), and while subject 499 and 501 are. However, I can't figure out a way in FMP where I can easily access the subject file (ie type in 501 in the record box and immediately go to subject 501 and not 502 since there's a jump/difference due to subject 500.

Any help would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: Question about Records
          philmodjunk

Can't tell how you have designed your database. Please see:  Please Help Us to Help You...

What tables, fields and relationships have you designed for your database?

Depending on the design you can either perform a find for  subject 501 or use a relationship to find a related record for subject 501.

• 2. Re: Question about Records
            LinaX

1) FileMaker Pro 11

2) Operating System: Windows 7

3) FileMaker in single user mode

4) New to Filemaker

5) I have exported data from SPSS in a .csv form, so I have over 100 variables per subject. 

6) No scripts or calculations or fields/relationships.

I want to be able to type in the subject number in the top part of FMP (records) and go immediately to that subject even if there's a big difference in the numbers (ie subject 900 in my database is showing up as record 709).

Thanks!

• 3. Re: Question about Records
              philmodjunk

Would each "subject" be a row in you csv form?

Would the subject number you are referring to be a column in these rows of data (Just one column, not many columns)?

If so, here's the simplest way--once you have either imported the data from the csv file into your database or converted the csv file into a FileMaker database:

Enter find mode (Click the Find icosn at top of screen)

Type 900 into your subject number field.

Click Perform Find