3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2015 10:57 PM by philmodjunk

Question about Self-Join Match Field

starstuff

Title

Question about Self-Join Match Field

Hi All!

im studying self-join (match field) and i cant figure how i got the result.

The result :

Im in the PRICING_SUPPLIER Layout/Table,  i was able to show only the suppliers from a drop-down value list using the "include only values from" COMPANIES_Suppliers_Only (TO) (please see attached screenshot of the tables)

im thinking its becauses its connected to PO_INVOICES companytype (calc) = "Supplier", that it shows only the Suppliers in the value list,

the COMPANIES_Supplier (TO) companytype = Indexed, By Value List, Required Value, Allow Overide, i used a value list to validate this.

i like to ask why did the PRICING_SUPPLIER list only the Supplier, is it because of the PO_INVOICES?

if so, then should i move the companytype in PRICING_SUPPLIER table  because im working on PRICING_SUPPLIER.

Thanks All!

matchfield.png

• 1. Re: Question about Self-Join Match Field
          philmodjunk

You left out a detail. You are listing values using the "include only related values starting from Companies_Suppliers_only" option, but from what table occurrence does the value list list its values?

I don't see a way for the relationship to PO_Invoices to have any effect on what values you see in this value list unless you were listing values from that table occurrences.

BTW, the relationship between companies_Supplier and PO_Invoices seems to have an unneeded match field as I don't see a reason to inclue a company Type field if you are already including the company ID as the other match field.

• 2. Re: Question about Self-Join Match Field
            starstuff

Hi PhilModJunk!

Thanks for the help!

You left out a detail. You are listing values using the "include only related values starting from Companies_Suppliers_only" option, but from what table occurrence does the value list list its values?