6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2012 2:11 PM by eldoonmad

Question about using portals

eldoonmad

Title

Question about using portals

I am still fairly new to FileMaker Pro and am still trying to understand relationships. I do not expect anyone to take the time to realy explain it to me but I would like help settting up a portal. 

Basically my setup is like this. I am creating an inventory management database to, well of course, keep track of my inventory and assets. One of my tables is called "Assets" and all the feilds describe the assets. I have another table called "Warranties". This one is for keeping track of warranty tickets for an Asset that is out for repair. In form view of the "Assets" tables, I have a tab that is called "Warranty History". I would like all the lines from the "Warranties" table that are associated with the "Assets" indexed, autoserial numbered feild to be listed under the "Warranty History" tab. From what I understand this can be done using a portal. I have created the portal but I can not get any information to populate in it. I know it has to do with relationships, so if anyone can help me with that, I would greatly appreciate it. 

Screen_Shot_2012-04-02_at_12.15.20_PM.png

• 1. Re: Question about using portals
          eldoonmad

This is the Asset form view

• 2. Re: Question about using portals
            eldoonmad

This is the Warranty History form view

• 3. Re: Question about using portals
              philmodjunk

First, double click the line linking asset to warrantyHistory and select the "allow creation of records via this relationship" option. Enabling this option should allow you to create new records in the portal by entering data into the uppermost blank row in the portal. See if that works for you.

• 4. Re: Question about using portals
                eldoonmad