9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2014 2:48 PM by philmodjunk

Question on how to alert when user enters data

terrypink

Title

Question on how to alert when user enters data

Hi everyone,

Wondered if someone can help me?  I'm kind of new to Filemaker and I have created a database that works off of Filemaker GO so that users can fill out information on a table called Diary from their phone.  The database is stored on a Filemaker Server.

My question is, is there a way to create a script that can send an alert to a particular email address if the user of the phone app doesn't fill out information from their Diary table for a certain amount of time (if they haven't filled anything out for the last 24 hours)? 

On a similar note, if such a script is too difficult, is there a way to create a report that shows that user's answers for the day, but can this report be sent out automatically to an email address rather than having the Filemaker developer create a report each day?

And if the answer is yes to either question, is there an example of such a script somewhere?

Thank you so much!
           ~Terry

• 1. Re: Question on how to alert when user enters data
          philmodjunk

The filemaker developer should never, ever have to create a report each day. A user might perform a script to pull up the records needed for a report, but that's not the same thing as creating a report.

To answer your original report, a server schedule can perform the same script once a day. That script can perform a find to find all records for users that have not entered any records in the Diary table in the past 24 hours.

The list of such users can be put in the body of an email that can be emailed from the server using the SMTP server option.

• 2. Re: Question on how to alert when user enters data
            terrypink

Thanks, Phil.  Can you provide some additional instructions on how to create such a server script?  Are there any resources or examples anywhere?