5 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2010 10:57 PM by Shruti

Re: Go to related record automatically if unique ID already exists

Shruti

Title

Re: Go to related record automatically if unique ID already exists

Hi,

I'm doing some work for an insurance company. All the records in the database are identified by a unique policy/agency number. My boss wants to update this database with every new document. When he inputs the policy number, it is flagged as an existing value and the user is asked to input another. Instead, my boss wants the existing record to show up automatically so he can modify it easily.

I'm using FM Pro 10. I'm fairly new to FM, and learning on the go. How do I do this? I've never actually written a script yet, so if that's the way to do it a nudge in the right direction would be useful.

Else, is there some way of using the find screen? Type in number, if exists -> go to record, if not -> creates new record... something like that?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Re: Go to related record automatically if unique ID already exists
          philmodjunk

With Filemaker 10 and 11 you have a feature called a "script trigger" that can be used to perform a script when a specific event occurs. In your case you could set up a trigger to perform a script when the policy number field is exited.

I'm assuming a relationship is being used to "flag" your duplicate records. Let's further assume it looks like this in your relationship graph:

Policy:: PolicyNumber = SamePolicy:: PolicyNumber (SamePolicy is a second table occurrence of Policy)

Hmm, let's modify that and I'll explain why at the end.

Change it to be:

Policy::gPolicyNumber = SamePolicy:: PolicyNumber  (Make gPolicyNumber a new field with global storage specified.)

Your script would look like this:

If [ IsEmpty ( SamePolicy:: PolicyNumber ) ]

New Record/Request

Set Field [Policy:: PolicyNumber ; Policy::gPolicyNumber ]

Else

Enter Find Mode[]

Set Field [ Policy:: PolicyNumber ; Policy::gPolicyNumber]