5 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2010 2:46 AM by fitch

Reading/Writing records to a table in script mode

Mikeoss

Title

Reading/Writing records to a table in script mode

I'm new to Filemaker scripting.The supplied documentation leaves somethng to be desired :-)

I've got me a nice script made for processing data file containing info about members of a club. Works great, fine.

At the end of my script I want to "save" a sum total. Is it possible to create (= add) a new record in a table during/at the end of a script?

It's possible that the record already exists (the script may be run more often), so I need to be able to save to a:

1. existing record (question: how do I identify a specific occurence in a table, then update and save (commit)?)

2. non existing record (question: how do I create and save a new record to a table?)

It's probably basic stuff but the documentation supplied fails to enlighten.

Thanks again for the leg-up :-)

• 1. Re: Reading/Writing records to a table in script mode
          fitch

You can create or update records through relationships, or you can go to a layout based on the correct table, find the record, and update, or if none found create a new record. If needed you can do this in a new window.

Are you looking at the printed docs? IMO, the online documentation is pretty good.

• 2. Re: Reading/Writing records to a table in script mode
            mrvodka

Can you explain why you are trying to do this? A more full detailed explanation wil  help with better advice.

• 3. Re: Reading/Writing records to a table in script mode
              Mikeoss

I'm sorry, I haven't been clear enough.

My database contains information on members of an investment club. Each member has contributed a certain (mostly different) amount to the 'kitty', sometimes in different installments. Every Quarter the profit / loss of the total investment is distributed across the club members.