6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2013 12:29 PM by KrisztianG,

Real Estate property match

KrisztianG,

Title

Real Estate property match

Hi Everyone!

I am fairly new to FM and so far I really enjoy working with it.

But now I am stuck on something regarding relationsships.

I would like to create a real estate database. I have set up three tables:

- Customers

- Buy requests

- Sell request

There is a primary key in the Customer table and there are foreign keys in the Buy, and Sell request databases.

So the  relationsship is One - to many from the Customer db to the Buy Request db and also from the Customer to  Sell Request db.

So I can create a portal on the Customer detail page that lists all the sell and buy requests that belong to that customer.

My problem is, that I want to create a portal on a Buy Request detail page that lists all the properties within the database that  are for sale and match the buy request. And also the pther way round.

So it is a kind of "property match" that I would like to accomplish.

How can I do that with FM? Many thans in advance!

• 1. Re: Real Estate property match
          GuyStevens

You will need to give a little more information.

A property match means that there are criteria that need to match.

I'm assuming location, price, number of bedrooms etc. could all be possible criteria.

The idea would be to create the same fields in both tables and to create relationships between those. Or you could use global fields to enter criteria and then perform a find in the properties table.

• 2. Re: Real Estate property match
            KrisztianG,

Thank you for your answer!

You are right, the results have to match certain criteria. I can filter the portal records, that is not a problem.

I could not even set up filters because none of the listings showed up in the portal of the buy request details page. I assume the problem was that the relationsship wasn't direct.