5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2009 7:49 PM by David40

Reasonable Training Expetations

SLM0516

Title

Reasonable Training Expetations

I am a manager (business-end, not technology manager)that has hired an individual with limited knowledge in Access.  This individual has done some database modification and has built queries (unsure of the level of complexity) in Access. 

Our organization uses FileMaker Pro.  This individual will need to be able to create databases by importing multiple tables, change field/data types, join tables, query information and export information to meet a designated file specification.

Assuming the individual understand the basic concepts of relational databases, what is a reasonable time frame to expect this individual to learn FileMaker to do the specific tasks above?  If I were able to secure training in two hour increments twice a month, what would you say is a reasonable time frame?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Reasonable Training Expetations
          ninja

Howdy SLM0516,

Welcome to the forum. Thanks for the post...out of the everday to be sure.

Others on the board will be far more able to answer your direct question than I, but I have some thoughts that you might want to consider.  Chances are you've already considered these things, but just in case...

(For perspective, I'm a manager also, and not of IT though I do much of the Dbase building&support for the company.  I have never been "Officially trained", though I have no doubt I would be better equipped if I were.  I not only answer some questions on the forum, I ask them as well.)

Training is knowledge, excellence comes from experience.  Consider not only the training, but also the time they will have to "play around with it".  They will learn the concepts and the tools through training, they will learn how to use the tools by 'hans on'.  Make sure they have enough hands-on time.