1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2012 3:23 PM by philmodjunk

recoding data from one variable into another new variable

KevinSiddons

Title

recoding data from one variable into another new variable

I'm new to FileMaker and could use some help getting oriented.

I'm doing analysis of 5 years of health data which I would like to store in FileMaker. I have files of original data which I've imported into FileMaker. In preparation of my statistical analysis (in SPSS) I want to recode data from one variable into another newly named variable.

I'm working with yearly Cause of Death data. Each record represents an individual who died. Each record has a coded COD. I need to create a new variable that would represent a range of COD codes (for example - Heart disease would be a category that would contain a number of COD codes). I would like to run a 'script' that would complete this coding for all records.

I've programmed in SQL and am familiar with structured programming. I haven't yet gotten a sense on how to do this in FileMaker.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kevin

• 1. Re: recoding data from one variable into another new variable
          philmodjunk

First, in FileMaker, there are fields and there are variables, they aren't the same thing. It sounds like you want to move data into a field rather than a variable but I could easily be wrong.

It sounds like you want to build a list such as Myocardial Infarction, Congestive Heart Failure, etc for your list of COD's for "Heart Failure".

It's hard to say for sure without having a clearer understanding of what you want to do with such a list, but it sounds like you should be creating records in a related table where you have one field for COD and one field each category such as "Heart Disease". You'd have one record for each COD and those that fall in the same category would have a common value in the "category" field.