10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2010 7:46 PM by RickWhitelaw

Record ID numbers

thumper

Title

Record ID numbers

Hey everyone a small problem im having is this...

im trying to figure out how i can show something like like this:

you are viewing record 2 of 57

"2" being the current record displayed and "57" beeing the total number of records..... im not new to programming at all but am a complete newbie to filemaker lol

i would like it to be in a label as well.

Thanks for any help is much appreciated.

also im using FM pro advanced 9 and on windows vista.

• 1. Re: Record ID numbers
          RickWhitelaw

I use a custom function defined as : "#" & " " & Get ( RecordNumber ) & " " & "of" & " " & Get ( FoundCount )  . No variables defined. It can be placed on any layout and will return the current record number in the found set as well as the total number of records in the found set of the table referenced by the layout. If you don't have FMPA simply define a field the same way in each table you need. As well I use the arrow sets in FM Graphics Pack (?) and attach script steps (Go to first record, go to last etc.) to them and place the above mentioned field under the graphics. It works fine.

RW 

I should point out: this returns Record Number (place in the order of a found set) and NOT RecordID which is unique and does not change regardless of the found set. 

• 2. Re: Record ID numbers
            thumper
               Thanks or the reply, i tested out your code but what im looking for is to display the same data that is shown in the status area of filemaker but without having to show the status area itself, is that possible?
            • 3. Re: Record ID numbers
              TSGal

thumper:

Thank you for your posts.

No, you cannot put the calculation in the Status area.  However, the Status area in FileMaker Pro 9 already displays the current record number and the found set of records.