1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 11:14 AM by GuyStevens

Records not being saved.

KellyLichtenwaldt

Title

Records not being saved.

I'm a fairly new Filemaker Pro user. Used it for years, didn't for the last few, now I'm using it again.

FMP 11.0v4

MacPro

2x2.66ghz dual-core Intel Xeon

5 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM

OS 10.7.3

I'm using the simple "invoice template" with no modifications. 

I've invoiced three clients. I used the "send inoice to email" with sucess.

Now, the fourth invoice I created was fine. It emailed fine. It saved a PDF copy of it on my desktop fine.

However, It's not anywhere to be found as a record in Filemaker. It's like I can't save more than 3 records. 

I even tried making a few fake invoices. closed filemaker, re-opened it  and they were gone as well.

What can I possibly be doing wrong here?

Kelly

• 1. Re: Records not being saved.
          GuyStevens

Have you done a find?

Maybe you are not seing all records.

Does the top of your screen look like this:

find

Or like this:

Find

If the sphere is green, you should try clicking "Show All"

I've given myself heartattacks in the past thinking a bunch of records were gone only to find out I was in a found set of records.

It can't be that filemaker is only storing 3 records. So there has to be something funky going on.

Are you sure you are opening the correct file? And not a backup?

• 2. Re: Records not being saved.
            KellyLichtenwaldt

Yeah. Its simply not saving my invoices. Attached is a screen shot. Did the same thing yesterday. Ivoiced, emailed, then poof. It dissapeared when I opened up Filemaker this morning.

It is literally like my overnight backup is somehow un-doing everything I've done that day. Only on this application. Not Photoshop, Aperture, Adobe Bridge or any other programs I use on the same drive on the same computer.