6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2010 6:44 AM by jbkfrench

records numbered sequentially

jbkfrench

Title

records numbered sequentially

I'm working with  a database that was created by someone that is long gone.  There is a field that assigns a sequential registration number.  WE would like to be able to either reset this number to begin at 1 for a new database or change the field so that we can enter a number on our own.  If we try and enter a number over what is assigned, the whole record does not show in the report screen - but we can change the number again on the report screen and the record will then show.

I'm a Filemaker newbie and not sure where to look for this type of formatting.  Double clicking on the field in the layout screen brings up an inspector - but nothing there seems to indicate a sequential number field. 

Any help here is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: records numbered sequentially
          philmodjunk

This is most likely a number field with an auto-entered serial number.

Open Manage | Database | Fields

Find the field's definition and double click it.

Click the auto-enter tab.

Now you have a dialog where you can change what will be entered in the next new record to be created.

However,

I strongly advise carefully examining the structure of your database and how this field is used in relationships. This field might be used as a primary key for uniquely identifying records. Altering this value, as you've already discovered in one part of the database, may affect how data in table links to related data in other tables.

Be cautious and make a back up before you change anything.

• 2. Re: records numbered sequentially
            jbkfrench

Thanks for your prompt reply.

I was heading in that direction but database was greyed out and I was unable to get to that  - what do I need to make sure is closed or not active to be able to see that?

• 3. Re: records numbered sequentially
              philmodjunk