3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2011 3:46 PM by philmodjunk

Recurring Records

JamesCondon

Title

Recurring Records

I am a novice user and I am trying to build upon the Task Management template that comes with FileMaker.

I have a number of tasks that recur on a daily, weekly or monthly basis.  Is there any simple way to have a record (task) repeat on a regular basis (by date or after it has been completed.)?

Thank you, in advance for any guidance you provide.

--Jim

• 1. Re: Recurring Records
          philmodjunk

Yes, if you are willing and able to make some changes to the database. At the very least you'd need to add a field or two so you can identify a task as recurring and the interval it recurs over. Then you'd need a script that uses that info to make those entries for you on an automatic recurring basis. Putting recurring task in their own table, might be a very good idea also...

Might not be a simple thing for a novice user to achieve until they invest some time in getting a better understanding of how this specific database works as well as how FileMaker works in general.

I'm not trying to brush you off. If you want me to move forward with a more detailed description of how to do this, let me know. I'm just cautioning you that you should be prepared to spend some time learning how FileMaker works and how your file is designed in order to understand how to implement the changes I or another poster suggest.

• 2. Re: Recurring Records
            JamesCondon