1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2011 11:53 AM by BTimm

Recursive Function 101: cumulative totals

BTimm

Title

Recursive Function 101: cumulative totals

I'm new to recursive custom functions, but sounds like this might be best solution to this simple challenge:

I have a series of records, with RecIDs 1 through 6, each of which has a separate Total (number field). What I want to do is have a field for each that shows the cumulative totals based on the order of the RecID.

Basic calculation won't work without the recursion involved, if I have a relationship based on the PreviousRecord (recid - 1). I had thought I could stack the totals by adding total plus total of the previousrecord. I want this to be a field, not something that needs regular updating, so custom function with recursion seems like best path, but trying to get my head around the basics. Wondering if this is so basic that there is a custom function out there already or something else obvious I'm missing.

• 1. Re: Recursive Function 101: cumulative totals
          philmodjunk

Have you tried using a calculation with GetNthRecord?

Perhaps:  GetNthRecord ( Total ; Get ( RecordNumber ) - 1 ) + TotalForThisRecordsFields

Note that Get (RecordNumber) and Get ( RecordID ) return two distinctly different values. RecordID is an internal serial number assigned when the record is created or imported. RecordNumber is based on the current record's position in the current found set.

• 2. Re: Recursive Function 101: cumulative totals
            BTimm

The records in question would be in a set of related records, all sharing one id from a separate field, so order is relying on something like this:

RecID
            Total
            GroupID
            GroupOrder

So from any number of records, I want to generate the cumulative sum total of records related by GroupID, but cumulative as it works through the GroupOrder.