1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2011 8:32 AM by mgores

Related Files, Portals and New records

Bermudianna

Title

Related Files, Portals and New records

I am using Filemaker Pro Version 6.

I have two databases:

1. Master File: Client information with a layout for sick days which pulls the information from my Related File

2. Related File: Sick Day information

So, I have a relationship between the two based on Employee Id.  I have a portal on my Master File to show the many records per employee id (i.e. one employee may have many sick days so they are listed in this portal).  I then have calculations in my master file summing up totals of hours out, days out etc.

It is all working fine except when I enter a time and date in an employees record, it calculates fine, but if i delete the information it continues to say that one day has been taken sick.  I have the calculating fields set to "not calculate if referenced fields are empty" but it is still saying that a day has been taken.  How do I fix this?

• 1. Re: Related Files, Portals and New records
          philmodjunk

If you reply back to you earlier post, you can continue the discussion of your project without having to redescribe the basic issue each time.

Please post your calculation. I don't see why your calculation is counting a sick day even though you are "deleting the information". And how are you deleting this informaiton? Are you deleting the entire related record or clearing a field?

• 2. Re: Related Files, Portals and New records
            Bermudianna

Ok. 

I think the issue is that I am simply clearing a field.  The calculations are showing that a sick day is taken because by putting information into the portal field, it is creating a record in my related file.  Thereby automatically saying there is a day taken.  How can I delete a related record while in the Master file? 

• 3. Re: Related Files, Portals and New records
              Bermudianna