1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 27, 2010 6:16 AM by Jade

Relating Tables

MarkyMark

Title

Relating Tables

I am fairly new to FileMaker. I am a novice programmer. Here is the issue I'm having using FileMaker 9 Pro Advanced on XP.

I have setup two tables. One table is called Market Profiles - a table containing information about any given city. The other is called Venue Profiles - a table containing information about hotels and such. This is what they look like:

Market Profiles

kMarket_ID - a numeric key generated upon the creation of each City or Town

MarketName - user enters the name of the Town or City

MarketProvState - user enters the name of the Province or State the City is in

Venue Profiles

zMarket_ID - used to relate the two tables

VenueName - user enters the name of the Hotel

VenueCity - user selects the City or Town from a Drop Down List populated by entries in the Market Profiles table

VenueProvState - I want this field to be chosen automatically based on what the user selects for the VenueCity field

This probably is an easy fix, but I can't seem to get my head around how to accomplish it. Any help you can give would be much appreciated. If there's any info I left out, please let me know.

Thanks

Mark

• 1. Re: Relating Tables
          Jade

Hi Mark,

Unless you need to keep a duplicate copy of the city and province/state on the Venue Profiles table, this is what I suggest:-

Market

kMarket_ID - a numeric key generated upon the creation of each City or Town

MarketName - user enters the name of the Town or City

MarketProvState - user enters the name of the Province or State the City is in

Venue

kVenue_ID - an auto-enter serial number generated upon creation of the Venue record

zMarket_ID - number field used to relate the two tables

VenueName - user enters the name of the Hotel

Add a value list (Manage>Value Lists… in the File menu) for Cites using values from kMarket_ID and also display values from the second field, MarketName.