3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2012 10:58 AM by philmodjunk

Relational Database Design for History Research? (showing different titles, positions held etc)

ElifOzgen

Title

Relational Database Design for History Research? (showing different titles, positions held etc)

Hello,

I'm a PhD researcher in History, working on the disgraced members of the Ottoman ruling classes between 1574-1617. I only look at disgraced officials who served in the Imperial Council and held the top positions in the empire, who came from one of the three sectors in the Ottoman ruling classes: the military-administrative bureaucrats, the learned-judiciary, and the financial bureaucrats. I can think of the following fields: name; titles held (they hold different titles in different years);  the dates of their appointments, dismissals, disgraces, comebacks; education; ethnic origin; number of disgraces they experienced; the types of disgrace they experienced (treason, embezzlement); who accused them with these charges (often other members within my population); the punishments they received (dismissal, exile, confiscation of property, execution); talent. 

I also want to be able to see how these people's lives changed year-by-year. For example: Koca Sinan Pasha was in exile in 1584, but in 1589 he was appointed grand vizier, in 1591 he was disgraced (because his rival Ferhad Pasha accused him of treason), in 1593 he was reappointed grand vizier, in 1595 he died of natural causes. Ferhad Pasha was appointed grand vizier in 1591 (after bringing Koca Sinan Pasha into disgrace) and in 1593, he himself was disgraced (by Saturcu Mehmed Agha's libellous letter), in 1595 he was reappointed grand vizier, in 1595 again he was disgraced (because of Koca Sinan Pasha's accusation) and two months later Ferhad Pasha was found guilty: he was executed and his property was confiscated.