6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2011 5:20 PM by MarlenMadsen

Relational DB problem

MarlenMadsen

Title

Relational DB problem

I'm New to FM but have created many DB apps in the past. The question that I have is can I create in the Relational rules some where so that when I change the value of the Primary key of the parent table, have it cascade and change the linking field of the related records of the child table. Yes I understand that I could create a hidden serial field as the link. But I'm just asking the question as my previous developing tools relationships where always maintained with the rules that I specify

I'm just guessing that FM does this but I don't see where other than creating my own script to do so?

Amy thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Relational DB problem
          RickWhitelaw

Why would you want to change the value of the PK in the Parent Table? Apart from that question, I believe that since changing the value of the PK in the Parent Table will break the relationship to related records, the answer to your question is "no".

RW

• 2. Re: Relational DB problem
            LaRetta_1

"I'm New to FM but have created many DB apps in the past. The question that I have is can I create in the Relational rules some where so that when I change the value of the Primary key of the parent table, have it cascade and change the linking field of the related records of the child table."

As Rick indicates, you wouldn't want to change the primary key in the parent table but rather, you would change the foreign key (this primary parent key which resides in a related tables) instead. 

For instances, if you have a Product table with pk_ProductID (auto-enter FM-generated serial) and you have invoice LineItems with fk_ProductID, you change the fk_ProductID to a different product or rather, delete and re-add a different product.  When you repoint the related data, the information will flow accordingly.