3 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2015 7:00 PM by philmodjunk

Relationship

KatNicole

Title

Relationship

I would just like to ask how to successfully connect one field with the other successfully.

I have a table - GC Master List which contains the pertinent identifiers of gift certificates and to each addition to the list, the system generates a control number for it.

I have another table - GC Transactions where only GCs existing from the master list are accepted to transact, I would like to ask how I will be able to show the automatically generated control # in a field in this layout once a user encodes in a valid serial number?

Also, how to automatically reset the the control number  series back to "0" every day because my control number consists of the current date converted into numbers and a 000 series that is incremental by 1 for every record committed.

Hope you guys can help as I am really new to developing filemaker solutions. Thank you.

smiley

• 1. Re: Relationship
          philmodjunk

in GC Master List, you need a primary key. A field that auto-enters a unique value that is never, ever changed for that record. An auto-entered serial number is the simplest to set up. you can also set up a text field to auto-enter Get ( UUID ) in a calculation.

I would name such a field in this fashion: __pkGCID Note that this is NOT the control number that you describe as what you describe for it is unnecessarily complex for uniquely identifying records in your database.

You'd then define a number field in your transactions table to serve as the foreign key: _fkGCID.

In Manage | Database | Relationships, you'd then use the mouse to drag from __pkGCID to _fkGCID to link the two tables in a relationship.