4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2011 11:40 AM by philmodjunk

Relationship help

LanceB

Title

Relationship help

I'm a newbie with FileMaker Pro, but I've been able to figure out most of what I needed. Before I go any further, let me briefly explain what I have

4 tables:
      Clients
      Invoices
      Projects
      Quotes

My goal in all this is somwhat simple. I have all my clients in the Client table. Next, I keep all my projects in the Projects. Each project that has been invoiced has been marked as such. Still simiple. When it comes to the invoices, it gets tricky for me. I have a relationship set up to allow me to link my contact info for mailing addresses and any discounts as well as a relationship for the projects. I have a popup menu on my invoices to select a project, which in turn brings in the project name.

What I WANT: in the popup menu on the invoice for the project, I would like to only see the uninvoiced projects for the client already selected. If it woudn't be too much, I would love to have a script that would mark the included projects as invoiced, which in turn will remove them from the list.

Help? Is this too much to ask?

I attached a file showing the project menu with description if that helps get an idea of what I'm talking about.

Screen_shot_2011-06-20_at_11.46.50_PM.png

• 1. Re: Relationship help
          Abhaya

Hi Lance,

I got your problem.So i am giving some solution for this.

No doubt you have a Invoice layout and user must invoiced each project.

so keep a flag field(in invoice table ) and set it to "0" first and while invoice set it to 1.

keep another calculation field e.g con1 and value =1.

Then make  a self relationship among the invoice table (ID=ID and con1 not equal to flag) 

this will bring all the record that are not invoiced.

Try it and hope it'll bring your result.

• 2. Re: Relationship help
            philmodjunk