5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2013 1:56 PM by philmodjunk

Relationship Help

SlyTheTraveller

Title

Relationship Help

Good Day Everyone,

Please excuse me right away as I am new to Filemaker, I just upgraded from Bento since they will drop it pretty soon...

I had a Database in Bento here is what it was doing and can you help me or point me toward what I need to do, to do it again with filemaker...

I have a Radio show and I want to keep track of songs played during my Radio show so I don't play them too often and make people discover some new tracks

I had 2 database

1 - Containing a list of Music Tracks

2 - Database with a list of events

I was linking both to know which songs I played in which show and the play count was going back to the Music Track DB...

Can you help me anyone or send me where I should go to learn how to do it

• 1. Re: Relationship Help
          philmodjunk

Is each "event" a different broadcast of your radio show?

• 2. Re: Relationship Help
            SlyTheTraveller

Yes exactly sorry should have mentioned, I called it events cause sometime it could be a live event in front of a crowd... So it can help me get the songs best love by the crowd for those "special events, but still keep track of all the tracks played

• 3. Re: Relationship Help
              philmodjunk

Odds are that you may very well need or find useful a more complex set of tables and relationships than I am about to describe, but let's start simple and close to your current set up in Bento:

What you describe is a many to many relationship. A given event can link to many different tracks and a given track can be linked to many different events. (Many songs are played during one event and a specific song can be played during many different events.)

Start with these relationships:

Events-----<Event_Track>-----Tracks

Events::__pkEventID = Event_Track::_fkEventID
                   Tracks::__pkTrackID = Event_Track::_fkTrackID