1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 30, 2015 4:42 PM by TiffanyMeek

Relationship not working on layout

TiffanyMeek

Title

Relationship not working on layout

Hi there

I'm fairly new to FileMaker, and I've started working on a project management solution for our company. One of my layouts is not working as I would expect, in terms of the data populating the layout, which seems to have something to do with how I have set up my relationships. I can't for the life of me work out what I have done wrong. I would so appreciate some assistance.  Thank you in advance.

Within my solution the user can create a series of Goals. Those Goals can then be divided into Strategies. Each Strategy can then have Actions. Those Actions can have Targets. And lastly, those Targets have Measures. So for example, I might have a screen which shows Goal 2, Strategy 4, Action 3 and a list of its Targets. All works fine to this point. If however, I then try to add a Measure to the Target the screen throws up data from a different Goal.

Tiff Meek

• 1. Re: Relationship not working on layout
          philmodjunk

You need to describe the design of your layout and how you set up your relationships in order for us to understand what needs to be changed in order for this to work for you.

Might you have separate tables for each of the following linked in these relationships?

Goals----<Strategies-----<Actions----<Targets------<Measures   (----< means "one to many")

Is your layout based on Action with a portal used to list Targets?

Or is it a list view layout based on Targets?

Exactly how did you attempt to "add a measure to the target".

• 2. Re: Relationship not working on layout
            TiffanyMeek