10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2010 4:50 PM by philmodjunk

Relationship problem

BobSchwenkler

Title

Relationship problem

I have a match between two tables, let's say A and B. The layout is based upon A. B is viewed from a portal. Match field for A is a global calculation storing the number 1. Match field for B is an unstored calculation, calculating to 0 or 1. Both calculation fields are calculating to number. This match isn't working for me, no information displayed in the portal.

Changing Bs match field to a number field, the relationship works fine.

Bs field is calculating based on a condition set in table A. I could run a more involved script to set the fields in table B when this condition changes, but if I can just do it with a relationship that would be nice.

Seems like this is one of the relational idiosyncracies of this application, and I'm still learning them.

• 1. Re: Relationship problem
          Mystick

don't know if it would be possible for you, but one solution would be to modify your field in table B.

instead of unstored calculation, create a number field, with auto-entry based on a calculation that replace current value.

• 2. Re: Relationship problem
            BobSchwenkler

This doesn't work as Bs field won't recalculate via the relationship. Or maybe it can and I'm not doing it right?

• 3. Re: Relationship problem
              philmodjunk

Bob Swhenkler,

The approach you describe will fail as unstored or global values cannot be used on the "child" side of a relationship such as you need for your portal. (Filemaker needs an index for that field in order to support the relationship and such fields by definition do not have an index.)