8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2012 8:32 PM by altan

Relationship problem??

altan

Title

Relationship problem??

Hi there,

I don't know where to start, but I'll try. Please be patience with me. I'm new to filemaker. :)

Please see the attached file of the relationship of my tables... (I hope the linkages are right)

1. I duplicate the table of "Invoices" (which contains quotations and invoice) to become "Invoices confirmed"(which I want to filter out only the invoices for calculation of the sales confirmed)  
      2. my "status flag" field is a calculation that if invoice "status" is equal to 'invoice', then it should be 1.
      3. my Clients "ctrl_Invoice_status" is by default '1'.
      4. It works well when I have a unique client that has only 1 invoice under the client.
        which means, when Client A has only Invoice A (status is 'Quotation'),  I won't see the "total fees"; 
        when Client A has only Invoice A (status is 'Invoice'), I will see the "total fees". 
      5. The problem comes when... Client A has Invoice A (status is 'Invoice') and Invoice B (status is 'quotation'), I will see both "total fees" of Invoice A and B. Whereas I would only want to see the "Total fees" of Invoice A ONLY. And I realised "Invoices confirmed::status flag" always follow the "Invoices::status flag" in Invoice A.
      I hope the explanation is clear. Could anyone tell me what went wrong please? :(

Thank you very much.

Warmest regards,
      Al

Screen_Shot_2012-01-19_at_1.22.10_AM.png

• 1. Re: Relationship problem??
          philmodjunk

1) please confirm that you did this by using the duplicate button on this tab (Has two green plus signs). That's what you should have done and this does not duplicate your table, it creates a new "occurrence" of it. This is an important distinction here as you can duplicate the actual data source table on the tables tab and this is not what you should do here.