5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2015 9:13 AM by JoshuaGagnon

Relationships

JoshuaGagnon

Title

Relationships & Mirroring Records

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to Filemaker and while i've been doing OK (thanks in part to this forum!) setting up our new database after taking over a position that had not updated the database records or the software for almost 5 years (it was a mess) I'm once again stuck.

I work for a year-round education program that works with students in schools. Our "main" database is entitled UBData that has our student contact information as well as information we need to report in our annual performance review. What I am working on now, is creating a second database for our summer program.

I'd like to create a relationship between the UBData and Summer2015 Databases where I can pull all relevant personal information (name, address, phone, etc.) from UBData into Summer2015. In UBData I have a studentIDKey that is assigned when a new record is added. I'd like to link the two databases using the studentIDKey and grabbing information for students if the field "Summer Status" is "Active."

I realize this is a large question and I have tried to search the forum and use the "missing manual" that we have but it still seems to be over my head. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Relationships & Mirroring Records
          philmodjunk

You've set what you like to do, but not what parts of this you can't get to work.

Is your summer database in a different file from the first? Or are these two tables in the same file?

Do you know how to link two tables in a relationship?

Are you having problems setting up the layouts or in populating the new database table(s) with data?

• 2. Re: Relationships & Mirroring Records
            JoshuaGagnon

The summer database is a different file. We need to store & report on summer data each year (grades, classes attended, etc.) so i figured a separate file was the easiest route for that.