1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 24, 2012 10:54 PM by philmodjunk

Relationships and script issues

KatG

Title

Relationships and script issues

I have been working with a very basic 2 table database, I need to add tables and I'm having trouble deciding on the relationships and subsequently scripts as well.

I am a Nurse Practitioner. I have many patients, the patients have many encounters. The parent table (PATIENT)  consists of the patient info that does not change and has a one to many relationship with the child table (ENCOUNTER).  So far, so good and I have been able to create "reports" that I can print and use as progress notes, but I have to separate fields for Diagnosis1, Diagnosis 2 etc,  

I think I need to add a DIAGNOSIS "join" table (each patient/encounter has many diagnoses) and then subsequently an ASSESSMENT table (each diagnosis has many assessments) branching off that.  I have the tables in place, each has its own primary key and I have also added the foreign keys to every table. Aside from the initial relationship (Patient table's PATIENT_ID primary key connecting to the Encounter table's PATIENT_ID foreign key) and also checked the "allow creation through this....." on the child side, I'm not sure what to connect in what direction. I have tried several different configurations of relationships with different keys (in a copy of the database) but I can't seem to accomplish what I need to do. I am missing something somewhere, several things, I'm sure.

Currently I have a layout with portals for the child table, I "find" a patient or add a new one and to add a portal record.

I have a script on a button that lets me enter new encounters for that specific patient (An online tech wrote it and I do not understand anything about it, he gave me a fish, but I want to learn to fish :)