4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2012 11:00 PM by alanfair

Relationships, Lookups, and Storing the record ID From a lookup

alanfair

Title

Relationships, Lookups, and Storing the record ID From a lookup

I am new to filemaker, and perhaps i am missing something, but cannot get this to work.  Something i do in access without any issue.

Keeping the example simple.  Two tables, a) Customers Details, b) invoice details.

The customer table,  - each record has a unique number in the field C_ID , and the name of the customer in the Field C_NAME

Invoice table - Key fields are I_ID - unique record no, I_Details = some invoice text,  I_C_ID = number of customer record to which ir relates.

Have defined a relationship between C_ID and I_C_ID

SO WHAT DO I WANT TO DO !

When entering an invoice on my Invoice layout screen , I want a drop down list of customer names, to allow selection of the customer, but i want the customers ID (C_ID) stored in the invoice record in the field I_C_ID. - Cant seem to do this.

Can store the name but i need to store the link.

Can any of you Pro's Help, Thanks

• 1. Re: Relationships, Lookups, and Storing the record ID From a lookup
          philmodjunk

Open Manage | Value lists

Start a new value list and select the "Use values from a field" option.

Select Customers Details in the drop down and click C_ID to select the ID field as the primary field. This field's value will be entered when you select a value in this field.

Click the "Also display values from second field" checkbox

Select C_Name as the secondary field.

At this point you have a value list that displays both the ID and name values, but enters the ID number when a value is selected.

You can select the the values be sorted by Name and/or that only the names are shown, but if you use either or both options, make sure that customer names are always unique as duplicate names will then be omitted.