4 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2011 8:04 AM by philmodjunk

Relationships, Portals and Lookups

GavinCamilleri

Title

Relationships, Portals and Lookups

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been answered in a previous post. Im relatively new to Filemaker and have searched but I think a lack of knowledge is preventing me from understanding whether the scenarios described should also apply in my  specific situation.

I have a single database with two tables: The tables are "Projects" and "Timesheets".  The Projects table lists out the current projects being undertaken and all supplementary information relating to each project. The Timesheets table is a form in which staff will input their activities and time against specific projects.

Each timesheet has a discrete "Call ID" field. Likewise each project has a specific "Project ID" which is why I've stored them in separate tables. When recording time against a given Project, the Timesheet form has a field called "Project Name" which is used by the staff to decide which Project they should be recording their time against. I need the "Project Name" field on the Timesheet form to Lookup the list of projects from the Projects table and return those records as a drop down list. Ideally, I would like that drop down list to filter against an additional field in the Projects table and only return those records that have a "Project Status" of "Running".

Whilst initially I thought a Lookup might be the right way to do this, I need to ensure that if the name of the project changes for any reason that the Timesheet forms associated with that Project are also modified with the new project name.