AnsweredAssumed Answered

Rental Property Assistance

Question asked by Farookey on Nov 10, 2010
Latest reply on Dec 30, 2010 by GuyWinter

Title

Rental Property Assistance

Hi there,

I am a newbie to FMP11A and am trying to set up a simple database for a rental property for university students. I have made a start, but there are some calculations which I am finding difficult to locate or find a way around.

A brief overview of what I'm working with:

To make things simpler, as rental rates may change from year to year, I thought it'd be best to have a separate file per year.

There are a total of 7 units in 1 apartment block: x6 2-bedroom units, and x1 1-bedroom unit.

Number of tenants occupying units would ideally be the number of bedrooms involved, however, this year for instance we have currently 1 person in a 2bed and also 3 persons in a 2bed. Therefore I am open to the possibility of having more tenants than bedrooms. (no current problem here)

Ideally the lease period is 9 months (Sept to May). Again however I have tenants who don't obey this structure and am therefore open to the possibility of having various lease beginning and ending dates.

We usually require monthly payment due at the beginning of the month (but it rarely works out this way as some tenants are slow on payment). The first payment would consist of the first and last months rent (e.g. rent for Sept and May). Also, a security deposit is required at the beginning which is returned at the end of the lease on inspection of the unit.

Also, information and stats about the utilities paid per month will come in handy. The rental rate is inclusive of everything, but tenants are encouraged to not abuse these (utilities). It would therefore make sense to monitor the utilities.

OK... now about what I have thus far in the database...