3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2013 9:43 AM by philmodjunk

Reoccurring Import Feature + Across Multiple PCs

BillViola

Title

Reoccurring Import Feature + Across Multiple PCs

Hi guys, First time posting to the forum. I'm not too familiar with FileMaker, so sorry if this is a pretty basic question. I've set up a database using three Excel files being imported into a database utilizing the reoccurring import feature. The problem is, I need other users (who also have Filemaker) to be able to view this database on different computers. I understand that the reoccurring import feature would only work on my computer, but is there a way I can somewhat automate this database but have it so other users on different computers can view it? How would I make a script for something like that? Again I'm new to FileMaker so sorry if this is basic. I've been teaching myself using a lot of information posted here on the forums, and I think it's a tremendous resource. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Reoccurring Import Feature + Across Multiple PCs
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure what the recurring import feature has to do with hosting your database over the network so that others can access the database.

If all users have a local copy of FilMaker installed, you can open the file on the machine where the file is located with FileMaker Pro and if sharing is enabled for both FileMaker and the file (Select Sharing from FileMaker's File window), other users on the same LAN can launch their copy of FIleMaker and use Open Remote to find and open the hosted file. Upto 9 other machines can access the hosted file when FileMaker Pro hosts the database file.