5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2010 6:56 AM by LaRetta_1

Replacing Records

jmoorma2

Title

Replacing Records

I am fairly new at FileMaker. I am using FileMaker Pro 10 on a PC using Windows XP.

There were about 160 records accidently changed. We need to replace these will the old records from our back-up. There are over 5,000 records on our back-up but only the 160 need to be replaced b/c there have been additions to the database and other work done within the database since this "accident'.

Is there an easier/faster way of replacing these other than exporting the new records and then manually replacing them with the old records?

Please help if you can. Ask any questions that will help you help me. I know it may sound confusing so if you need more information please let me know.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Replacing Records
          philmodjunk

Make a back up copy of your current file.

Use a find to pull up all the records you want to restore in your back up in a found set and leave the file open.

Use Import records to import these records into your current file. (If the file is open, Import records imports from the current found set.)

You can either use the update matching records option if there's a field with a unique ID or you can first delete the records from your current copy before importing the records from your back up.

If you choose to delete the records, be careful to make sure no table of related records is set up to also be deleted when a matching record in this table is deleted or you'll delete more than you intend.

• 2. Re: Replacing Records
            fitch

Assuming you have a unique ID field:

1. In your live database, do a Find for the 160 records.

2. Do an Import and select your backup.

(If the backup was closed, you're all set. If it was open, you should check that in the backup file all records are found, or optionally, find the records you want to import.)