9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2010 9:21 AM by philmodjunk

Replicating MS Access  - "Find a record on my form based on the value I selected in my combo box"

RBowering

Title

Replicating MS Access  - "Find a record on my form based on the value I selected in my combo box"

I would like to have a combo box (drop down) containing the values of the current form/layout and, when I select from the list, the form/layout jumps to that record.

I'm very new to Filemaker (10) and when I've tried creating a drop down list as an extra field on a layout it simply changes the main value on the displayed record

It is a customer database with a portal (detail) listing of purchases under it. I like to search for the customer using a drop down list box (like a combo box in MS Access) the highlights what I'm looking for as i type and then 'fetches' or displays the matching record.

I'm quite good at MS Access but I'm trying to get up to speed on Filemaker because I've got the iPad version too to sync/copy/paste to.

• 1. Re: Replicating MS Access  - "Find a record on my form based on the value I selected in my combo box"
          RickWhitelaw

"I would like to have a combo box (drop down) containing the values of the current form/layout and, when I select from the list, the form/layout jumps to that record."

I believe you want to create a Value List to "service" your drop-down-list. The Value List should be values from your primary key of your table. You should select a second field  in the value list definition and select "Show only values from second field." This will also sort the records by the "second" field.

RW

• 2. Re: Replicating MS Access  - "Find a record on my form based on the value I selected in my combo box"
            RBowering

Rick

Thanks for replying so quickly.

I'm not sure what you mean and how the list suggest would be able to take me to the record I want by selecting from it