12 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2012 6:53 AM by Sorbsbuster

Replicating Unique Field data from one FMP table to another

MichaelWeisenberg

Title

Replicating Unique Field data from one FMP table to another

HI

I am a newbie attempting to develop an educational database in FMP 12 to use as a college gradebook. To link my tables, I am using a unique student ID field (issued by the colllege so it cannot be serialized) as my primary key. Since I have entered this unique Student ID into one of my tables, which is linked to other tables using this field, to save time, I am wondering whether FMP offers an easy way to replicate this student ID data from one table to another. Apparently, I may not be able to use the lookup table to auto enter this data as the unique Student ID is issued by the college and is not serialized. I come to FMP having previously used Microsoft Access where I was used to using an append query to accomplish my goal. I am unsure how to do this in FMP or even if it is possible to do so. I would appreciate any feedbak from others who may have done this before me. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Replicating Unique Field data from one FMP table to another
          Sorbsbuster

"Apparently, I may not be able to use the lookup table to auto enter this data as the unique Student ID is issued by the college and is not serialized" - not true, you can use it as a link in relationships.

But I would seriously consider leaving the StudentID as it is, and creating your system's own serialised ID which you can have control of and guarantee is unique and is formatted and used the way you want.  Only your system need know it exists.