3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2013 8:59 PM by SBC

Report creation confusion... FMP 11 Advanced

SBC

Title

Report creation confusion... FMP 11 Advanced

Hi, I'm new to FileMaker and I'm confused on how to create a simple report that is going to pull part of its data from two related tables.  They are 'line item' tables that are used as Portals in the main table named "Incidents". (see graphic)

I understand hypothetically that if I only had one line item table I would simply make my report in the one line item table and add my related fields from the Main "Incidents" table.  But where to I create the report if I need data from both of the Line Item tables?

Thanks in advance!  laugh

Screen_Shot_2013-09.png

• 1. Re: Report creation confusion... FMP 11 Advanced
          FentonJones

The obvious answer would to do the report in Incidents, and show whatever values you need from the other two tables, since Incidents has a good relationship to each. 

But you've said that you have thought of this. So we (me anyway) kind of wonder that is this report which has a problem with this. Perhaps it just doesn't look like a report, since a lot of records would likely have the same value in the field.

The tool to put a layout in "group" order is the Sub-summary part, "Sub-summary when sorted by" (then choose which field to use); you also set the sort in a script. The sort should be using the same order as the sub-summaries on the layout, and should have a "leading" then "trailing" (automatic) if you want to show the same sub-summary part twice on the layout (for totals, etc.). 

It is optional whether to include the Body part. If so, it would be in between. If not, you might want calculation fields, to put together numbers (or text) for the sub-summaries. 

That's the general idea. Let us know a bit more about the report, and someone will tell you more (and/or better :-).

• 2. Re: Report creation confusion... FMP 11 Advanced
            philmodjunk

Option 1: